Super Mario Advance series joins Nintendo Switch Online

1 year ago 103

Pocket Plumbing

As previously announced, Nintendo has brought three classics of the Game Boy Advance era to the Nintendo Switch Online archives. As of today, Expansion Pack subscribers can revisit the Super Mario Advance trilogy, consisting of Super Mario Advance (2001), Super Mario World: Super Mario Advance 2 (2001) and Yoshi’s Island: Super Mario Advance 3 (2002).

For those yet to experience these pint-sized classics, they are essentially revamped editions of some classic Super Mario Bros. titles, namely Super Mario Bros. 2, Super Mario World, and Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island. They feature all of the worlds, stages, and shenanigans of their original releases, complete with additional features, characters, and secrets. Upon launch, they were the first-ever official portable option for these classic adventures, and as such were incredibly popular GBA releases.

The fourth title in the series, Super Mario Advance 4: Super Mario Bros. 3, is already available as part of the Nintendo Switch Online archives, having arrived alongside the service’s debut back in the fall of 2018. All four titles are most assuredly worth a revisit, and it’s cool to have the quartet of classics available to hand as some of the most timeless releases in platform gaming history.

The Super Mario Advance series is now available to play for all Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack subscribers.

Chris Moyse

Senior Editor - Chris has been playing video games since the 1980s and writing about them since the 1880s. Graduated from Galaxy High with honors. Twitter: @ChrisxMoyse

More Stories by Chris Moyse

Continue reading