PlayStation Confirms State of Play for May

3 weeks ago 58

Sony has officially announced the long-rumored PlayStation State of Play event, set to take place on May 30. This confirmation comes ahead of a jam-packed early June gaming showcase window, traditionally held by E3. 

The State of Play broadcast will run over 30 minutes and feature 14 titles coming to PS5 and PS VR2. According to a post on the PlayStation Blog, the event will include updates on PlayStation Studios games, which are expected to release later this year.

Viewers can look forward to more than half an hour of exciting reveals and updates. Among the announcements, fans can expect news about Insomniac's Wolverine and the Silent Hill 2 Remake. However, Konami could reserve this reveal for its own Silent Hill Transmission event, which will follow the State of Play at 7 PM ET.

State of Play returns with a 30+ minute broadcast this Thursday at 3pm PT / 11pm BST: https://t.co/eJWbP09sv3

Tune in live for updates on 14 PS5 and PS VR2 titles, including a look at PlayStation Studios titles arriving later this year. pic.twitter.com/B6Uc6aLWKF

— PlayStation (@PlayStation) May 29, 2024

We can also expect a potential reveal of Ghost of Tsushima 2. The timing seems perfect, considering that the PC port of the original game released earlier this month. Other likely appearances include Haven's Fairgame$ and Firewalk's Concord. Furthermore, Destiny 2 fans can expect to get a significant update from Bungie regarding The Final Shape, an expansion that will conclude the epic Light and Darkness saga.

This State of Play will set the stage for high-profile gaming events in early June. The events include the Summer Game Fest, an Xbox event, a Ubisoft Forward, and a Nintendo Direct. By getting a head start, Sony will capture the gaming community's attention with its array of forthcoming titles and updates.

State of Play will take place on Thursday, May 30, at 3 PM PT / 6 PM ET

/ 11 PM BST. The event can be streamed live on YouTube, Twitch, and TikTok.

What's your take? What do you think about the upcoming State of Play? What games do you anticipate to be featured? Let us know over our socials here or in the comments below.

Avatar photo

Evans I. Karanja is a freelance writer who loves to write about anything technology. He is always on the lookout for interesting topics, and enjoys writing about video games, cryptocurrency and blockchain and more. When not writing, he can be found playing video games or watching F1.

Continue reading